The End with DAAD: What Touched My Heart

I have officially ended my internship with DAAD, and let me tell you, it has been phenomenal looking back!

My colleagues and supervisors were very sweet that they prepared a little thank-you/farewell snack feast for me!

What really touched my heart was the presents they gave me. They bought a mug with a picture of them holding placards with a message “We will miss you!” I wanted to cry, as everyone was very sincere and genuine with the message they were conveying.  This mug will always be with me forever!

Michaela surprised me by giving me a large collage of 3 photos of our small dinner we had previously. The biggest one was a picture of me holding her cat Kasmir (however you spell it, LOL). I was really touched by it, because, I’ve never seen myself in a picture looking so care-freely and genuinely happy (and I have taken a lot of photos in my life). That moment of happiness and content she captured in me truly reminds me that this opportunity has been wonderful, and that, really, every moment in my life should be full of joy.  Even now looking at that picture still gives a shot/pinch of happiness.

I really feel thankful and satisfied with all the work I have done for myself, for my internship, for YIIP, for DAAD, and for the RISE scholarship holders.  Having been the first Asian and second male intern at DAAD along with my effort, I hope, I have enhanced York’s image as a diverse university student population and as an institution of students of great potential as well, so that this opportunity can be continued for future students in YIIP.

Now I’ll be traveling around Switzerland, Austria, and Germany; thus, this blog will still be active!

About Oliver

This is for my summer in Germany while working with Deutscher Akademischer Austauch Dienst (DAAD), or German Academic Exchange Service!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

