A Finale

My internship has reached a conclusion with the annual scholarship holder’s meeting in Heidelberg, from Thursday, July 21st to Saturday, July 23rd.

I finally got to meet a lot of students in person!

Though I was technically the same age as they were, I was very busy that I did not have much time to hang out with them.  Additionally, being part of the coordinating team, I felt I was a bit obligated to keep my professional distance.

Nevertheless, I was really touched by the scholarship meeting itself.  I was touched by how successful (aka, non-dramatic) it was.  I was touched by the fact that all the effort I’d put into had result in good things for these students.  I was touched by the positive feedbacks that students gave me in person for my communication and assistance throughout their stay in Germany (“OMG YOU’RE OLIVER??? Thank you so much for all the reminders and help!!!”).  I was touched by the deep and rich enthusiasm, knowledge, and attentiveness of these students during the presentations and visits in the meeting.

I was touched by a bitter sweetness when the meeting ended.  On one hand, I was very happy that everything turned out right!  I got to know so many more students, and seeing them being content with the meeting, the events, and making friendships really warmed my heart.

At the same time, it meant a finale to my internship with the DAAD (I end on Friday, July 29th).  It’s all too soon; unbelievable.  I don’t know when I’ll be able to work in this environment again.  I don’t know when I’ll see these students again.  I don’t know when I’ll be in Germany again.  I really don’t want it to end.  I can really do this job for some years.  Really.

About Oliver

This is for my summer in Germany while working with Deutscher Akademischer Austauch Dienst (DAAD), or German Academic Exchange Service!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

