A Moment I Will Always Remember: What Are the Odds?

I just got back from Stuttgart, the headquarters of Porsche and Mercedes-Benz!

But during my trip, an event happened that I will never forget.

I was on the S-Bahn (Regional Train) to the Porsche Museum, and I sat facing a group of students of different nationalities. One student was wearing a Roots cap, so I asked her if she was from Canada.

“No, I got this from Taiwan.”

“You’re Taiwanese? Me too!”

We started talking, and Kristy is an MBA student in Leeds, UK, and she was doing a study tour in Germany with her university. I told her about my internship, and she was really interested with the scholarship opportunities, as she felt very comfortable with the living and working environment in Germany!

(I always think I’m working a little too much with my placement :P)

When we got to the Porsche Museum, I decided to have lunch with her and her group. I started talking about my background, how I grew up in Taichung, Taiwan, and went to an American school.

“Wait,” she said. “I have a cousin who went to that American school too! Maybe you know her?”

“Um, maybe, what’s her name?”

“Tammy …”

“OMG TAMMY LIN????? YES I KNOW HER!!! SHE’S MY FRIEND AND WE WERE IN THE SAME CLASS FROM GRADE 2 TO GRADE 8!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

What are the odds??????

Now looking back to the moment when we sat facing each other in the train, it’s really funny how fate worked!

Frankly, this would not have happened if I had decided not to strike up a conversation with her! I could have just left her and her friends alone, like another person with a Roots cap since the brand is pretty international.

She was really happy to have met me and to have heard about the scholarship opportunities with DAAD, and at the same time we were literally one degree of connection apart thanks to her cousin and my friend Tammy.

We exchanged contact information just to be in touch and meet up again in the future!

It’s a small world after all!

About Oliver

This is for my summer in Germany while working with Deutscher Akademischer Austauch Dienst (DAAD), or German Academic Exchange Service!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

