A Very Symphonic Turning Point

As Bonn is the birthplace of the famous composer Ludwig von Beethoven, well, anything muscial here is named after him!

Tom and I met up to use on our of “new resident coupons” to watch a Beethoven Orchestra performance in the Beethoven Hall (See, I told you).

The orchestra not only plays pieces by Beethoven, but also contemporary music pieces as well.

While I was listening, and watching the dynamics of the group, I felt a great reminisce.

I’ve learned the violin since I was 8, and I haven’t played since I was 16.  I was in my school orchestra from grade 6 until grade 10.  I couldn’t continue in grade 11 and 12 due to academics.

And I would say that is one of my biggest regrets in (high school) life.

Just watching the the violin bows flowing up and down, accompanied by the melody of woodwind instruments, I remembered all the practices and excitement of performing in front of an audience.  I was never considered the best violinist in my orchestra nor in school; frankly I was rather inconsistent with my performance and practice.  Sometimes I can impress the conductor, while other times depress him.

I was rather amazed that I was able to inform Tom about the layout of an orchestra and history of music, composers, and music styles, even though it’s been 6 years since I’ve touched classical music.  I looked back and realized how much I appreciate my music education, because frankly, not as many people are learning musical instruments as before.  It’s rather fascinating that a lot of my friends I’ve met in my travels all stayed in touch because of knowledge of classical music.

Now I am determined to reconnect with violin again.

About Oliver

This is for my summer in Germany while working with Deutscher Akademischer Austauch Dienst (DAAD), or German Academic Exchange Service!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

