There are Locks of Love in Cologne!

I recently visited Cologne which is a bigger city 30 minutes north of Bonn by train.

(My destinations just get further and further each time!)

Immediately stepping out of the Hauptbahnhof, or central railway station, you see the massive Cologne Cathedral with very very intricate and extravagant Gothic designs on the exterior. It is actually one of the biggest cathedrals in the world too!

I climbed one of the towers (well, only one was available for climbing), and my oh my. I would not do it again for that next few months/years/decades. Way too many steps and lots of human traffic jam!

Nevertheless the view of the city from the highest point in Cologne was very remarkable, as the Rhine river flows gently and the trains passing the bridges with cargo ships surfing below.

I later went to the famous “Love Bridge,” which is the bridge that the trains enter and exit Cologne.

There are not “lots” of love, but “locks” of love. Almost the southern side of the bridge is decorated with locks with the names of the couple and the date they put the lock on the bridge. Many of the locks I saw were fairly recent, but I did saw some older ones dating back to the 80s and 90s.

Just as I was taking artistic photos of the bridge, I noticed an old couple with their family (children and grandchildren), who were holding a bouquet of flowers. The old couple, who were probably in their 70s, were searching for locks. Based on that image, I am positive that it was like wedding anniversary.

Eventually they found it, and the family were cheering and being joyful of the search.

And that was when I thought to myself, wow, how long ago did they put their lock together? 40, 50, or… 60 years ago? Like high school sweethearts or puppy love? Did they ever doubt about their relationship after putting that lock? How did they maintain their relationship for such a long time?  It’s rather unbelievable considering how we perceive relationships nowadays.

I don’t know, I may be rather skeptical, but sometimes I feel couples can be too idealistic with these kind of romantic sites. Yes, we all want happy endings, but there is always reality checking on us.

So, this old couple has definitely impressed me a lot with their love story. A good wrap up to my time in Cologne with a good life/love story.

About Oliver

This is for my summer in Germany while working with Deutscher Akademischer Austauch Dienst (DAAD), or German Academic Exchange Service!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to There are Locks of Love in Cologne!

  1. Larissa says:

    I like that story.

Leave a Reply

