Castle in the Woods with Falcons

I visited a World Heritage Site in a town called Bruehl just 10 minutes north of Bonn by train.

Augustusburg Schloss, or Augustusburg Castle, was a relatively small palace that accommodated a Bavarian Prince, Augustus Clement.

The convenient thing about the castle is that immediately getting off the train station, TA DAH, it’s right in front of your eyes!  The exterior shows resemblance to the Versailles Palace.  I got to do the tour, and OMG, it was very stunning!  The interior was a series of lavish designs and decorations in each room, with the staircase being the most impressive of all as it is garnished with pink, green, and white marble, and adorned with by significant paintings on the ceiling and on the walls. Unfortunately I couldn’t take photos of it, but you can definitely find some on google 😛

To be quite honest, the interior is by far the most impressive of all the palaces I’ve seen in my life.  That is, I haven’t seen a lot of palaces.  I’ve seen 3 or 4 palaces in Spain, and none of them can compete with the beauty with Augustusburg (though I do love the country, don’t get me wrong!).

After that, I walked through the gardens, and it was mainly under construction.  However, I went through a forest path that directed to a private house where Prince Augustus resided when he did falconry.

The forest path was walled with very tall trees making it look like a green tunnel with soldiers saluting you when you are approaching the castle.

Better yet, there was literally no one in the forest.  It was very peaceful and refreshing.  Plus, the weather was very cool, so I just sat at one of the benches to enjoy the fresh oxygen, the cool breeze singing, and the birds chirping.

When I got closer to the Falcon-ing house (Falkonlust), there was another pathway with trees planted to wall it.

The Falkonlust itself was a lot smaller but very cozy indeed and very isolated in the agricultural fields.  The interior was predominantly light blue to symbolize the colour of Bavaria.

The interesting thing was that I had to wear these slippers that you’d find in lab companies, which was something I’ve never done before while visiting a site.  I had to take a picture.

Afterwards I visited Max Ernst Museum, just 5 minutes away from the Augustusburg Castle.  The museum was a lot smaller, but it had a very impressive collection of the artist’s sculptures.  What I liked the most of his sculptures were his design for chess pieces, and each collection was different!  I think it’d be cool to have one of those unique and alternative chess-piece designs.

About Oliver

This is for my summer in Germany while working with Deutscher Akademischer Austauch Dienst (DAAD), or German Academic Exchange Service!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

