Bigger than You Think!

My internship DAAD is a lot bigger than I thought!  In addition to assisting the RISE Program scholarship recipients, which are all undergrads, I’m also assisting a section in the program called RISE Professional.

In it, DAAD collaborates with German corporations to provide internship opportunities for students of all tertiary education level and recent graduates studying in science related subjects.

Well, as DAAD is arguably the biggest academic organization in Germany, if not Europe, it works with big German corporations too!

Siemens, Bosch, BMW, Bayer… just to name a few of the 40 companies.  No big deal! LOL.

My supervisor Martina told me that in June/July I will need to accompany her on a boat cruise on the Rhine to meet with managers/CEO of these corporations as I will need to present data information and statistics I’ve working on.  Yea, just one of those things as a DAAD intern; that is, the corporate boat cruise part.

YEA!!!

http://www.daad.de/rise-pro/en/index.html
So all you science students reading this, you should really consider it! DAAD is very generous with scholarships and funding.

Now back to the undergrad part.  I’ll be meeting all the scholarship holders in a meeting in July in Heidelberg.  In addition to meeting 300 students, my supervisor Michaela told me that 12 students will have the chance to meet the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Berlin!  She said she’ll make sure I’ll be one of the twelve.  We’ll see!  Andddddddd, as Heidelberg is not far from Stuttgart, students will have the chance to visit the Porsche Museum and Benz Museum!!!

HELL YEA.

This is getting better as I discover more!

About Oliver

This is for my summer in Germany while working with Deutscher Akademischer Austauch Dienst (DAAD), or German Academic Exchange Service!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bigger than You Think!

  1. Alexandra says:

    need acronym definitions! DAAD? RISE? sounds incredible though! what a networking opportunity…

    • Oliver says:

      Haha, DAAD is Deutscher Akademischer Austauchdienst = German Academic Exchange Service. RISE means Research in Science and Engineering, not as fancy as DAAD acronym I’d say 😛

Leave a Reply

