Some Things I Very Value Now

Free Public Bathrooms

Here in Germany (and Belgium and Luxembourg) there are no things as free public bathrooms.

You have to pay for bathroom, whether it is in a department store, train station, or any other public spaces.

That is something very different from, let’s say, Eaton Centre.

Though, it’s not expensive (about 60 cents Euro is the most), frankly, it has caused some problems when I go shopping in downtown but don’t have coins for it!

Books and News

Not exactly from Germany, but you get the point.

Every book store here in Bonn is very… majestic! They are all very decorative in the inside, and full of ALL kinds of books, whether in German, English, or other languages. In some stores, there are also newspapers in  foreign languages, such as English, French, Spanish, Italian, Russian, Chinese, Japanese, Arabic, and Greek too!

Moreover, I find Germans read a lot of books! Every day on the subway, I would see about half the passengers nosing down in their books, big books to say the least! That kind of make me feel bad coming from North America, as I find people do not read as much comparatively. In addition, being an English speaking country, we tend to think that our perspective from this linguistic characteristic, is correct, and other languages are unnecessary, whereas in Germany other perspectives and languages are encouraged as seen through the books and newspaper they sell.

Stable Weather

You think Toronto weather is bad? Well, come to Germany and you’ll appreciate our snowy weather! The weather in Bonn is absolutely SPORADIC. You never, ever, ever know when you would need an umbrella! When I leave my residence around 8:00 for work, it would be sunny so I would wear a T-shirt. Then when I’m on the subway, it would cloudy, and then rainy after I step out. Then it’d be sunny again after I’m in the office. And then rainy when I leave. And so on. The sequence changes so much that it’s driving me nuts! Moreover, this summer (yes, up until now in July) I would still wear a JACKET because the weather can be around 15~20. Bonn is not as sunny and warm as Toronto in the summer.

About Oliver

This is for my summer in Germany while working with Deutscher Akademischer Austauch Dienst (DAAD), or German Academic Exchange Service!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

